Joey LaRoche of KIPP is Louisiana High School Principal of the Year

ByDanielle Dreilinger

Read the full article at >

A New Orleans principal has been honored as one of the state’s top educators for 2017. The Louisiana Education Department named Joey LaRoche the 2017 High School Principal of the Year on Friday (July 15).

LaRoche leads KIPP Renaissance High on St. Claude Avenue. It was the first New Orleans high school opened by the national Knowledge Is Power Program network. He grew up in New Orleans, where he attended Eleanor McMain Secondary School, according to his Facebook page.

The overall Louisiana Principal of the Year for 2017 is Sedric Clark of Mansfield High School. Department officials named Joni Smith of Albany Middle School the Teacher of the Year. As a prize, Smith received a one-year lease on a new Mercedes.

“The educators honored tonight are a fine representation of the high-caliber professionals we are fortunate to have in Louisiana schools,” state education Superintendent John White said. “This is a chance to celebrate the profession of teaching (and) a chance to recommit to the effort of ensuring our teachers have what they need to do their job well.”

“Great teachers and principals open the door for our children to achieve their dreams,” said Holly Boffy, vice president of the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and a former Teacher of the Year herself. “This year’s finalists represent the top of our profession in our state.”

The department also announced the following 2017 honorees:

Elementary School Teacher — Amber Beach, Princeton Elementary

Elementary School Principal — Elizabeth Cook, Cypress Point University Elementary in Monroe

Middle School Teacher — Anna Tarver, Gilbert Junior High

Middle School Principal — Kenny Delcambre, Sixth Ward Middle School in Chackbay

High School Teacher — Torrence Williams, West Feliciana Parish High

School Superintendent — Darrell Fairburn, Washington Parish