Two KIPP Blytheville students receive national scholarship

ByRegion 8 Newsdesk
Kayla Perry and Anika Mittal, two KIPP Blytheville winners of Goldberg Scholarship

Read the full article at >


Two KIPP Blytheville Collegiate High seniors beat out hundreds in receiving a national scholarship.

Recent graduates, Anika Mittal and Kayla Perry, were among 30 recipients nationwide who received the 2018 Dave Goldberg Scholarship.

Mittal and Perry were selected from nearly 350 applicants.

The Goldberg Scholarship Program was created by the Sheryl Sandberg and Dave Goldberg Family Foundation to support high school seniors across the nation who show outstanding leadership, among other qualities.

As Goldberg Scholars, Mittal and Perry will receive about $15,000 a year along with a mentor to provide support through college.

“It’s exciting because of the amount of support they are about to provide,” Mittal said. “It’s very encouraging, especially as we move into this new step in our journey.”

“For me to be in this little town called Blytheville that nobody knows about and win this scholarship that’s really hard to get, I am really, really excited,” Perry said.

The scholarship honors the legacy of Dave Goldberg by supporting leaders who embody his qualities of leadership, resilience and kindness, to name a few.

“The journey to and through college is a difficult one, and having strong professional training and internship opportunities is a launch pad for student success,” said KIPP Delta Executive Director, Scott Shirey. “With the Goldberg Scholarship, they are poised to thrive in college and be set up for success in a meaningful career upon graduation.”

Mittal and Perry were chosen based on their academic records and leadership skills.

“I plan to go to Hendrix College in Conway,” Perry said. “I plan to major in child development.”

“I’m doing a six-year program at the University of Missouri in Kansas City School of Medicine,” Mittal said.