James Lee of KIPP Columbus named Division VI state football coach of the year

By Bailey Johnson

To kick off a week of honoring the best high school football players across the state, the Division VI and VII All-Ohio teams were announced by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association on Monday.

From the Columbus area, KIPP Columbus coach James Lee was named coach of the year in Division VI. In his first season, Lee led KIPP to a 7-5 record and the program’s first playoff win.

In Division VI, West Jefferson quarterback Tyler Buescher earned first-team honors, and receiver MJ Book joined him on the first team. Defensively, KIPP defensive lineman Sidikiba Kaba, Fairbanks linebacker Riordan Stauffer and Africentric defensive back Dan Wagner were named to the first team.

Quarterbacks Cy Startcher from Elgin and Tymir Wynn from KIPP earned second-team honors. Elgin running back Kevin Kline joined his quarterback on the second team. At receiver, both Paul Butterman from Mount Gilead and Correll Amsbaugh from Worthington Christian were named to the second team. West Jefferson offensive lineman Canyon Schneider and Fairbanks offensive lineman Joe Kinsley round out the Columbus-area representation on the second team.

Centerburg quarterback Jack Gregory, Northmor running back Maxton Lower, Northridge running back JD Miller, Northmor offensive lineman Duston Sanders, Elgin offensive lineman Gavin Berridge, Africentric offensive lineman Sean Smith and Worthington Christian kicker Grant Woodfin were named to the third team offense.

Read the full article here.